Expat Thanksgiving: Seosan, Korea

Last night, the expats in Seosan got together in a local bar and with the help of about 5 or 6 ovens we threw a traditional Thanksgiving dinner. We had turkey, stuffing, some great bacon and cheese mashed potatoes, green bean casserole, biscuits, and all the other normal stuff associated with a big family potluck. It was a bit chaotic for sure. There were easily over 40 people in attendance, so it was a little hard to get everyone organized, but it turned out pretty well. My girlfriend and 3 of my friends from Suwon. My friend James made a green bean casserole, but he’s Irish and didn’t know that everyone hates green bean casserole (I’m just kidding. There was none left). I made my grandma’s macaroni and cheese, but I didn’t put enough salt in it…I also made an apple pie and a blueberry pie from scratch. The apple pie was beautiful, but the blueberry pie turned out pretty ugly since the blueberries bubbled over the lattice top, it reportedly tasted good though. I will not be making another pie without a pastry blender though. Thanks to Urban bar and all the people who organized the event.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment